Julia’s Exit Blog

It didn’t take more than a couple of days for all my new friends at college to find out how much I love DECA.  I have been so positively impacted by this organization throughout the past four years.  I loved everything from competition to our charity and social events.  What has made my DECA experience even more impactful, however, was the opportunity I have had throughout the past year to serve Minnesota DECA as Vice President of Business and Industry.  The more I look back on my experience, the more I realize that many of the things I gained from this experience came from you – my fellow DECA members, advisors, and state officers.  Each relationship this state action team experience has allowed me to build caused me to take away something very valuable, and I’d like to thank you all for that.

First, I would like to thank all the wonderful members of Minnesota DECA.  Being a state officer has allowed me to build relationships with a variety of members throughout Minnesota DECA, and it has been encouraging to see all the cool things chapters are doing.  I would especially like to thank all the DECA members who communicated with the state action team in projects like the three words videos and the Movement.  From these relationships, I learned that there are people out there who are ready and willing to make DECA a great organization.  The goal of a state officer is to take this willingness and coordinate it so that DECA as a whole can improve.  Thank you for helping our team achieve this goal.

Second, I would like to thank our advisors who make DECA great.  As a state officer, I have realized how many advisors put in countless hours to make sure Minnesota DECA and its conferences are effective.  From the many advisors I’ve encountered, and especially my own advisor, Mr. Bodenburg, I have been encouraged to never settle for mediocrity.  I will always remember my advisor telling me, “it’s good… but we can make it better.”  Advisors are dedicated to making DECA more than just okay, and I would like to thank them for that.

Finally, I would like to thank my fellow state officers for the fantastic relationships I’ve built with them over the past year.  I am still amazed at how quickly we became friends.  From our team, I have seen so many powerful examples of what it means to be a leader.  We all have different personalities and leadership styles, and that is what makes our team strong.  Thank you for bringing your best to this team.

I am so grateful to everyone who has made this past year as a state officer completely phenomenal.  I look forward to seeing you all at our upcoming Fall Leadership Conference!  Although it will end my time as a state officer, the effects of my DECA experience and the relationships I have been privileged to build will not end at this conference.

