Dan’s Exit Blog

Experiences that undoubtedly change a person’s life for the better are rare.  Being a part of Minnesota DECA is one of those experiences. We are so privileged to belong to such an extraordinary organization.  I believe with conviction that DECA creates outstanding citizens who will do amazing things in this world and I consider it an honor to have met so many of those individuals.  

When I first went to State in 2010, I saw Paige Dorman on stage and said to myself, “I want to be up there.”  Over the next two years I prepared and set myself up for success in running for the presidency of Minnesota DECA.  Being elected as the president is one of the greatest things that has ever happened to me.  I have met so many amazing individuals, made beneficial connections, grown as a leader, and as a person.  I am so thankful that my peers believed in me to lead their organization.  

I know that DECA will always be a part of my life.  Whether it’s networking at an event, or giving a speech, DECA has given me the skills and tools to reach for success.  Throughout the past three years I have been able to “Live. Learn. Lead.” “Expand My Network” and “Aspire Higher.” Seize every opportunity that DECA and life presents to you, and always feel free to contact me.  Nothing would make me happier than hearing from amazing students like you.  

 

Thrive,

 

Dan Drill-Mellum

President, Minnesota DECA

2011-2012

 Image